The War Between the States

60 Essential Books

Southern Reader's Guide

Clyde N. Wilson

The second installment of Dr. Clyde N. Wilson’s Southern Reader’s Guides distills more than a half century of scholarship into identifying and describing 60 essential books on the topic of the “The War Between the States,” that is, the American war of 1860-1865, often erroneously referred to as the “Civil War.” Dr. Wilson, Emeritus Distinguished Professor of History of the University of South Carolina, was editor of the highly-praised Papers of John C. Calhoun and is the author or editor of more than 20 other books, and over 700 articles, essays, and reviews in a variety of books and journals, scholarly and popular. He is considered by many to be the greatest living historian of the South. If you want to understand the War as the Southern people understood it, there is no greater guide than Dr. Wilson.

Paperback ISBN: 978-1947660175

Free Books!

Sign up for Shotwell’s new release notifications and receive the downloadable editions of Lies My Teacher Told Me by Clyde Wilson and When the Yankees Come by Paul C. Graham—absolutely free!

Your information will never be shared and you can unsubscribe anytime.