Reconstruction and the New South, 1865-1913

50 Essential Books

Southern Reader's Guide

Clyde N. Wilson

The third installment of Dr. Clyde N. Wilson’s Southern Reader’s Guides distills more than a half century of scholarship into identifying and describing 50 essential books on the topic of the Reconstruction (1865-1876) and the New South (1877-1913). Dr. Wilson, Emeritus Distinguished Professor of History of the University of South Carolina, was editor of the highly-praised Papers of John C. Calhoun and is the author or editor of more than 20 other books, and over 700 articles, essays, and reviews in a variety of books and journals, scholarly and popular. He is considered by many to be the greatest living historian of the South. If you want to understand Reconstruction and the New South without wasting your time on 3rd string authors and the p.c. infected pseudo-history coming out of the modern academy, there is no greater guide than Dr. Wilson.

Paperback ISBN: 978-1947660236

Free Books!

Sign up for Shotwell’s new release notifications and receive the downloadable editions of Lies My Teacher Told Me by Clyde Wilson and When the Yankees Come by Paul C. Graham—absolutely free!

Your information will never be shared and you can unsubscribe anytime.