Chained Tree, Chained Owls

Poems

Catharine Savage Brosman

Catharine Savage Brosman, Emerita Professor of French of at Tulane University, has published nearly forty books of poetry, fiction, and literary scholarship. This is her twelfth book of verse. It returns freshly to her familiar territory of New Orleans, the Southwest, France, and the despoiling of our contemporary culture.

“Of contemporary American poets, only Catharine Savage Brosman possesses the wit, erudition, and technical skills to pull off this tour de force, a combination lyrical travelogue and bracing, biting account of our moral and artistic decline. Her work holds a firm place in the tradition of Swift, Pope, and Larkin.” — Randall Ivey, University of South Carolina-Union, author of A New England Romance and Other Southern Stories.

“It is all simply gorgeous, jaw-droppingly beautiful work. . . . She is unsurpassed in her geological descriptions among all poetry written in English.” — Jennifer Reeser, author of Indigenous and Sonnets from the Dark Lady and Other Poems.

Paperback ISBN: 978-1947660328

Chained Tree, Chained Owls

Free Books!

Sign up for Shotwell’s new release notifications and receive the downloadable editions of Lies My Teacher Told Me by Clyde Wilson and Confederaphobia by Paul C. Graham—absolutely free!

Your information will never be shared and you can unsubscribe anytime.